Mindfulness and the Importance of Having Fun and Looking Good

Source: Etsy

Source: Etsy

How much do you think you spend on the following categories?

  • Entertainment
  • Clothing
  • Random Expenses like lattes, snacks, etc.

Probably more than you think you do!

Where do you spend your money?

I know that my entertainment and clothing categories were woefully small in the last six months and I’ve been wondering why that is. I think it’s because I’m spending a lot of my money on food expenses, and I’m not taking the time to take care of myself through other means that aren’t food.

Thing is, we need both entertainment and clothing. When I’m not spending money on those categories, it’s usually because I’m eating way too much food that’s bad for me. I’m eating my feelings.

So, although I know my entertainment and clothing categories are gonna go up in the next few months, I totally understand why and I’m actually kind of glad that I’m spending more on those items because it means I’m not spending it on junk food.

Here’s the truth: I’ve been steadily gaining weight over the last year. Kind of like the same way I’ve been steadily gaining more debt. The correlation between the two is not a surprise. When you’re not paying attention to one thing in your life, chances are you’re not paying attention to other similar things in your life. So I was spending (and eating) way too much money (and food). Now that I’m tracking my expenses and logging some of my food, I’m doing a much better job of managing both.

This is where mindfulness comes in

The reason I’m tracking my food is because I’m working with a nurse to lose some of the weight that I’ve put on. Her first recommendation was to start eating breakfast, so I began tracking that. We met after two weeks and talked about adding more vegetables to dinner.

I’m not expecting miracles to happen right away, though. With anything that requires a concentrated effort to do, I know that there will be steps forward and backward. Case in point: I gained two pounds in the last two weeks. I also had to use my credit card last week to pay for laundry.

But I know that these events happened and I can mitigate the damage of both because I’m aware of what’s going on. I really can’t stress enough how important it is to just be aware of what’s going on in your life instead of letting things happen blindly.

This is why I’m a big fan of mindfulness. Mindfulness is just being aware of what’s going on in your life. Living automatically without much concentration leads to the problems I’ve been facing lately. Now that I’m more aware of my actions I can slowly change things so that I’m no longer gaining weight and spending money frivolously. Hopefully I’ll even begin losing weight and saving more of my money!

Have you experienced mindfulness? Has it helped your life?

Leave a Reply

